Organization

 

The Wacken Foundation solely and directly pursues non-profit objectives and is concerned with the support of hard and heavy metal music.

 

The organs of the foundation are the managing board and the councillor of the foundation. The managing board runs the foundation’s business and is responsible that the purpose of the foundation is constantly and sustainably being fulfilled. The councillor of the foundation monitors the management of the board and has to ensure that the managing board takes care of the constant and sustainable fulfilment of the foundation’s purpose in particular.

 

The board of trustees takes over a consulting activity towards the organs of the foundation and does not have decision-making powers. The managing board, however, regularly occupies the consulting activities of the board of trustees. Initially all applications are being discussed by the curators, who are all experienced in the music industry. Afterwards a recommendation is being made to the managing board. The Managing Board makes the final decision.

 

The organisers of the Wacken Open Air solely act as founders whose will is being compiled by the organs of the foundation. They are not actively involved in the day-to-day business of the Wacken Foundation and are not receiving a single cent of the foundation’s assets.

Organisation

 

Die Wacken Foundation verfolgt ausschließlich und unmittelbar gemeinnützige Zwecke und dient dem Zweck der Förderung von Hard- und Heavy-Metal-Musik.

 

Die Organe der Stiftung sind der Stiftungsvorstand und der Stiftungsrat. Der Stiftungsvorstand führt die Geschäfte und ist dafür zuständig, dass der Stiftungszweck dauernd und nachhaltig erfüllt wird. Der Stiftungsrat überwacht die Geschäftsführung des Vorstandes und hat insbesondere darauf zu achten, dass der Vorstand für die dauernde und nachhaltige Erfüllung des Stiftungszwecks sorgt.

 

Das Kuratorium übernimmt eine beratende Tätigkeit gegenüber den Stiftungsorganen und hat keine Entscheidungsmacht. Der Vorstand nimmt jedoch regelmäßig die beratenden Tätigkeiten des Kuratoriums in Anspruch. Anträge werden zunächst von den Kuratoren, die alle Erfahrung in der Musikbranche haben, gemeinsam diskutiert und dann eine Empfehlung an den Vorstand ausgesprochen. Der Vorstand trifft dann die endgültige Entscheidung.


Die Veranstalter des Wacken Open Airs fungieren innerhalb der Stiftung ausschließlich als Stifter, deren Wille durch die Stiftungsorgane eingehalten wird. Sie sind nicht aktiv am Tagesgeschäft der Wacken Foundation beteiligt und werden in keiner Weise am Stiftungsvermögen beteiligt.