WACKEN FOUNDATION-FESTIVAL-TOUR 2013

6 FESTIVALS – 3 COUNTRIES- 3,926 MILES

In the upcoming weeks we want to pass our festival tour 2013 in review for you.

The goal of the tour:
To attract more attention for the Wacken Foundation.


Always on board:
• Pavilion with unlimited information material, lighters and ball pens
• Pedal for power – mobile phone charging station developed by The Electric Hotel
• Daily raffle and once per festival an Epiphone guitar with W:O:A-design as first prize (all revenues were in favour of the Wacken Foundation)
• Fantastic weather

Our route:

NOVAROCK 2013

 

PLACE

 

Nickelsdorf, Austria
DISTANCE715 miles
DATE OF THE FESTIVALFriday, 14th June until Sunday, 16th June - 3 DAYS
DURATION WITH JOURNEY Wednesday, 12th June until Monday, 17th June - 6 DAYS

 

The NovaRock in Austria was the first destination of our Wacken Foundation-Festival-Tour 2013. According to this we were quiet excited and clueless what to expect. For us the challenge already started before the festival – we had to fit the whole booth equipment in a van. And of course we also needed enough space for 4 people. After overcoming this first obstacle we left our home region southwards on Wednesday morning. The journey took us 19 hours instead of the expected 10 hours due to the floods and we arrived in the middle of the night. More or less well rested we started to build up our booth next morning. We immediately recognized that we did not think of some tools that could have helped us a lot to build up. It was a great luck, that our neighbors, owners of a jewellery booth were passionate Wacken fans. They helped us out with all we needed – a ladder to build up the tent, tools for our mobile phone charging station and also light for our tent. Thanks to them we were able to open up our booth punctually.

From the first day on many interested people visited us – many of them at first thought that we were representing the Wacken Open Air. When we made them understand that we are a foundation to support young metal bands with their projects they were all enthusiastic and many of them took part in our guitar raffle in favour of these metal bands. A lot of guests were coming back several times a day, leaned back in our cosy bean bags and watched the performances on the main stage.

All in all the first stop of the Wacken Foundation tour has been successful and we were able to get a step closer to our goal – to popularize the foundation in foreign countries. 

We thank all of you who had an open ear for our concerns and accompanied us during the festival. And of course a big thank you to the organisers of the NovaRock. And last but not least, thank you so much for your great support Jenny, Domi and Fabian!!!

ROCKHARZ 2013

 

PLACE

 

Ballenstedt, Germany
DISTANCE280 miles
DATE OF THE FESTIVALThursday, 11th July until Saturday, 13th July - 3 DAYS
DURATION WITH JOURNEYWednesday, 10th July until Sunday 14th July - 5 DAYS

The Rockharz in the Harz mountains in Germany was the second destination of our Wacken Foundation-festival-tour 2013. As for the NovaRock we also loaded our van one evening before our departure – this time we even thought to take a ladder, light and tools for the bikes of the phone charging station. The journey was trouble-free and took us less time and energy than the journey to Austria. And to set up the booth took us only half the time – well, practice makes perfect!

Our booth was located perfectly in the middle of the infield with direct view to the main stages. The visitors charged their phones at our station and at the same time watched the performing bands on the stages. At all times many interested people have been around and the atmosphere was great. We were very delighted when we recognized a familiar face that we already knew from the Hamburg Metal Dayz 2012. He again stayed a long while at our booth and bought many tickets for our Epiphone guitar raffle. He told us that his reason for the participation is that he finds the work of the Wacken Foundation very important for the metal scene (if he would win a prize he would not have any objections to that of course – and he did win one evening).

Another highlight of the Rockharz for the Wacken Foundation was the fundraising campaign of our curator Enno Heymann. He travelled to the Rockharz from his home town very up north in Germany – by bike! Just before the start of the festival on Thursday he reached our booth and we celebrated him duly. And as if this is not enough – after the festival he cycled the whole way back. With this campaign he collected € 800 for the Wacken Foundation on the donation platform Helpedia. A fantastic idea, Enno, thanks a lot!

 

To sum up it can be said that the tour to the Rockharz was totally worth it and we hope that we can join in again in 2014.

 

Thank you everyone who pedaled hard and persistent to load the phones despite the heat and peppered us with questions about the foundation. We would also like to thank the organizers of the Rockharz for the hospitality and the great location of our booth. And a huge thanks to Jenny, Marcel and Hendrik. You rock!!!

WACKEN OPEN AIR 2013

 

PLACE

 

Wacken, Germany
DISTANCE0 miles
DATE OF THE FESTIVALThursday, 1st August until Saturday, 3rd August -  DAYS
DURATION WITH JOURNEYTuesday, 16th July until Monday, 5th August - 21 DAYS

As you can see the time period of the assembling and dismantling is much longer than the three main festival days of the Wacken Open Air. The reason for that is that the Wacken Foundation has “at home” an own camp with a size of 22 x 88 yards. For this camp a bit more planning, organization, personnel and coordination is necessary. Besides our big W:O:Arts tent with great artists like Chris Boltendahl from Graver Digger also other companies and associations like Sea Shepherd, Rock Science, Greenpeace, a pizza restaurant from the famous German chef Tim Mälzer, pokerstars.de and many more should receive a place for their booths. And this had to be planned and coordinated in every detail.

The Wacken Foundation had to run an information tent, goal scoring and pole sitting and we also implemented the Metal4Nature beverage container collection campaign with tricycles on the festival ground. To be able to manage all this we needed more hands – ideally from people who already know a bit about our foundation’s work. And who would be more suitable for this, than bands who have already been supported by the Wacken Foundation. In total we had more than 40 volunteers and more than half of them were band members of bands supported by us. For example also Martin from the band Cryptex pitched in. He noted that they could have not been able to implement their first support tour without the Wacken Foundation and therefore he wanted to help us in our camp.

The Wacken Foundation Camp at the Wacken Open Air 2013 was special highlight of our tour. It was great to experience how many volunteers support the Wacken Foundation and it was great to hear all the positive reactions to our camp.

Thanks a lot to the organizers of the W:O:A, to all booth operators for the great cooperation, to all artists from the W:O:Arts tent and the numerous volunteers. A special thanks to Marcel, Katha, Birte and Surani – the indefatigable Wacken Foundation Camp team!

The Wacken Foundation had to run an information tent, goal scoring and pole sitting and we also implemented the Metal4Nature beverage container collection campaign with tricycles on the festival ground. To be able to manage all this we needed more hands – ideally from people who already know a bit about our foundation’s work. And who would be more suitable for this, than bands who have already been supported by the Wacken Foundation. In total we had more than 40 volunteers and more than half of them were band members of bands supported by us. For example also Martin from the band Cryptex pitched in. He noted that they could have not been able to implement their first support tour without the Wacken Foundation and therefore he wanted to help us in our camp.

The Wacken Foundation Camp at the Wacken Open Air 2013 was special highlight of our tour. It was great to experience how many volunteers support the Wacken Foundation and it was great to hear all the positive reactions to our camp.

Thanks a lot to the organizers of the W:O:A, to all booth operators for the great cooperation, to all artists from the W:O:Arts tent and the numerous volunteers. A special thanks to Marcel, Katha, Birte and Surani – the indefatigable Wacken Foundation Camp team!

BLOODSTOCK OPEN AIR 2013

 

PLACE

 

Walton-on-Trent South Derbyshire, England
DISTANCE808 miles
DATE OF THE FESTIVALThursday, 8th August until Sunday, 11th August - 4 DAYS
DURATION WITH JOURNEYTuesday, 6th August until Monday, 12th August - 7 DAYS

Directly two days after the Wacken Open Air we already left again to the next festival, the Bloodstock Open Air in England. Before we left we collected together our stuff, removed the dust and packed it in our van with lighting speed. We were very excited what awaits us in England and if our foundation will go down well with the people. After one and a half day on the road and the ferry we arrived Derbyshire and got assigned a great and very central spot for our booth directly next to the main stage. It was very loud over there during the performances but in return it was always crowded. Although no bands were playing yet on Wednesday evening there were already people stopping at our booth. A bunch of them stayed for the whole evening for celebrating and we had time to talk with them about our work and they took part in our raffle with pleasure.

In Great Britain foundations are much more widespread than in Germany and more popular as well and therefore many guest came to our stand in order to inform themselves about our work. The feedback of the people was great. Also the local radio channel of the Bloodstock Open Air was interested and made an interview with the project management of the foundation. The whole video can be found at the following link.

The most spectacular incident for the Wacken Foundation on the Bloodstock Open Air was the guitar raffle on the third festival day. More than 70 of the people who bought a raffle ticket came back to our booth in the night and hoped to win the first prize, an Epiphone guitar in W:O:A design. To announce the winner took us much longer than expected. We had to draw again and again, more than 10 times because the owners of the winner number did not come back for the drawing. Therefore the bunch of people screamed: “Redraw! Redraw! Redraw!” over and over again. The atmosphere was fantastic. And after the 12th drawing one person waved with his ticket with the winner number. He was so overwhelmed that he wrested the guitar from our hands and ran off to show it his friends.

The Bloodstock Open Air 2013 was the first journey to England for the Wacken Foundation and we would be very pleased to join again next year. We thank the organizers of the festival Paul and Adam Gregory for the great hospitality. And a great thanks to Anna, Jule and Surani for your great support.

ELB-RIOT 2013

 

PLACE

 

Hamburg, Germany
DISTANCE47 miles
DATE OF THE FESTIVALSaturday, 17th August - 1 DAY
DURATION WITH JOURNEYFriday, 16th August until Saturday, 17th August - 2 DAYS

The ELB-RIOT in Hamburg was the fifth destination of the Wacken Foundation festival tour 2013. When we were assigned the spot for our booth – first time not in the infield - we were a bit concerned that less people will visit our stand. But on the contrary – many many guest were visiting us and they were as interested as the English on the Bloodstock Open Air. We were also very amazed to see that many metal heads were putting all their coins our donation box – without taking part in the raffle. Especially well-known faces from the festivals before were very generous.

Late at night, shortly before the end of the event, it was time for drawing the places 1, 2 and 3 of our raffle. Again, so many people joined us for the drawing at our booth. The third prize, a W:O:A fan set for cars went to a nice middle-aged woman. And this woman also won the second prize, a laptop bag. In order to show the expectant crowd that we play fair, we were mixing the raffle tickets even longer. When we announced the number of the third winner ticket, the same woman waved with her ticket and yelled: “This is the raffle ticket of my daughter, she is in front of the stage and gave me hers!!!”. We were all a bit stunned, but it must have been a very lucky day of the winner family. “A great prize – and at the same time I did something good for young metal bands.” said the daughter when she came to our booth later on.

 

The ELB-RIOT was our last outdoor festival of our tour in 2013 and for us a very successful event. A big thanks to the organizers of the festival and we be a part of it next year again. Additionally thanks a lot to Stefan for the great help!

HAMBURG METAL DAYZ 2013

 

PLACE

 

Hamburg, Germany
DISTANCE47 miles
DATE OF THE FESTIVALFriday, 27th September until Sunday, 29th September - 2 DAYS
DURATION WITH JOURNEYThursday, 26th September until Monday, 30th September - 5 DAYS

The 2nd Hamburg Metal Dayz was the last festival of our Wacken Foundation festival tour 2013. We already knew the ropes in the Markthalle (market hall) in Hamburg, as we were setting up a booth here for the fourth time.

During the Hamburg Metal Dayz 2013 loads of familiar faces were showing up at our stand. They already knew our foundation from the HMD 2012, the RockHarz, the NovaRock, the W:O:A or the ELB-RIOT and stopped to review our summer tour and to take part in the raffle. Like the year before we had again the chance to raffle one guitar donated by Epiphone per day – the last one even with signatures of the headliner Children of Bodom. The outcome was overwhelming: We left the Markthalle with a plus of € 3,000.

The auction of an Epiphone E-bass guitar, that has been signed from ALL bands of the HMD 2013 is still pending. It will take place from upcoming Wednesday, 11th December 2013 on eBay. The link to the auction will be announced on www.wacken-foundation.com, www.wacken.com and on Facebook.

The Hamburg Metal Dayz 2013 was a big success for the Wacken Foundation. Not only because of the record income but especially because of the positive feedback from all sides. “You are on the right track!” commented one oft he guests. Thanks a lot to the organisers and the Markthalle crew! And a big thanks to Mücke and Mafa, our two volunteers.


By the way - if you ask yourself now what motivates our volunteers to work for the Wacken Foundation, Maja know the answer: “I am a metal head and I recognize how important the Wacken Foundation’s work is for the whole metal community. Without young bands and artists metal doesn’t have a future. And it is also so much fun to work with all these people!!”

WACKEN FOUNDATION-FESTIVAL-TOUR 2013

6 FESTIVALS – 3 LÄNDER - 6.318 KILOMETER

 

Hier lassen wir für euch unsere Festival-Tour 2013 Revué passieren.

 

Das Ziel der Tour: Die Stiftung Wacken Foundation in die Welt hinauszutragen.

 

Immer mit dabei:

• Pavillon samt unbegrenzt Info-Materialien, Feuerzeugen und Kugelschreibern
• Strampeln für Strom – Handyladestation entwickelt von The Electric Hotel
• Tägliche Verlosung und einmal pro Festival als Hauptpreis eine Gitarre im W:O:A-Design (alle Einnahmen gingen an die Wacken Foundation)
• Astreines Wetter

·       

Unsere Route:

NOVAROCK 2013

 

ORT

 

Nickelsdorf, Österreich
ENTFERNUNG1.150 Kilometer
DATUM DES FESTIVALSFreitag, 14. Juni bis Sonntag, 16. Juni - 3 TAGE
ZEITRAUM MIT
AN-/ABREISE
Mittwoch, 12. Juni bis Montag, 16. Juni - 6 TAGE

 

Das NovaRock in Österreich war das erste Ziel unserer Wacken Foundation-Festival-Tour 2013. Dementsprechend aufgeregt und ahnungslos, was genau uns erwartet, waren wir. Die Herausforderung fing für uns bereits vor dem Festival an – wir mussten das ganze Standmobiliar in einen Kleintransporter bekommen. Und natürlich musste auch noch genügend Platz an Bord für vier Personen sein. Nachdem wir diese erste Hürde gemeistert hatten, verließen wir unsere heimischen Gefilde am Mittwochmorgen gen Süden. Die Fahrt dauerte aufgrund des Hochwassers in Gebieten, durch die wir durchfahren mussten, ganze 19 anstatt der geplanten 10 Stunden. Wir kamen also quasi mitten in der Nacht auf dem Festivalgelände an und machten uns erst am nächsten Morgen mehr oder minder frisch an den Aufbau. Dabei bemerkten wir nach und nach, dass wir so einige Hilfsmittel und Werkzeuge, die uns den Aufbau erheblich erleichtert hätten, nicht dabei hatten. Was für ein Glück, dass unsere Nachbarn, die Besitzer eines Schmuckstandes, leidenschaftliche Wacken-Fans waren. Sie haben uns mit allem ausgeholfen, was wir vergessen hatten – von der Leiter zum Aufbau unseres Zeltes über Werkzeuge für unsere Fahrräder der Handy-Ladestation bis zur Lampe für unser Zelt. Dank der Beiden konnte unser Standbetrieb wie geplant losgehen.

Vom ersten Tag an kamen reichlich interessierte Besucher zu uns  – viele in dem Glauben wir seien ein Stand des Wacken Open Airs. Als wir ihnen dann aber klarmachten, dass wir eine Stiftung sind, die junge Metalbands bei ihren Projekten unterstützt, waren alle begeistert und haben zahlreich an unserer Gitarren-Verlosung zu Gunsten dieser Metal-Bands teilgenommen. Viele Besucher wurden zu „Stammkunden“, kamen mehrmals am Tag wieder, haben es sich in unseren Sitzsäcken gemütlich gemacht und von dort die Auftritte auf der Hauptbühne verfolgt.

 

Alles in allem war der erste Stopp der Wacken Foundation-Tour absolut gelungen und wir sind dem Ziel, die Stiftung auch im Ausland bekannt zu machen ein Stück näher gekommen!

 

Wir danken allen, die beim NovaRock ein offenes Ohr für unser Anliegen hatten und uns über die Festivaltage begleitet haben. Und natürlich ein herzliches Dankeschön an den Veranstalter des NovaRock. Und last but not least, vielen Dank für die tolle Hilfe an Jenny, Domi und Fabian!!!

ROCKHARZ 2013

 

ORT

 

Ballenstedt, Deutschland
ENTFERNUNG450 Kilometer
DATUM DES FESTIVALSDonnerstag, 11. Juli bis Samstag, 13. Juli - 3 TAGE
ZEITRAUM MIT
AN-/ABREISE
Mittwoch, 10 Juli bis Sonntag, 14. Juli - 5 TAGE

Das Rockharz in Ballenstedt war das zweite Ziel unser Wacken Foundation-Festival-Tour 2013. Wie schon zum NovaRock haben wir auch dieses Mal am Tag vor der Abreise unseren Transporter mit dem Standmobiliar bepackt – und dieses Mal haben wir sogar an eine eigene Leiter, Lampen und Werkzeuge für die Fahrräder der Handy-Ladestation gedacht. Die Anreise war problemlos und um einiges weniger lang und beschwerlich als nach Österreich. Auch der Aufbau unseres Zeltes und Standes ging doppelt so schnell – klassischer Fall von Übung macht den Meister.

Unser Standplatz lag mitten im Infield des Rockharz mit perfektem Blick auf die Bühnen. So haben die Besucher an unserer Ladestation ihr Handy geladen und hatten gleichzeitig einen idealen Blick auf die performenden Bands. Wir hatten durchgängig sehr viele interessierte Besucher an unserem Stand und es herrschte eine tolle Atmosphäre. Besonders gefreut haben wir uns über einen Besucher, der bereits bei den Hamburg Metal Dayz 2012 viel Zeit an unserem Stand verbracht hat und jetzt wieder fleißig an der Verlosung der Epiphone-Gitarre teilnahm. Er sagte uns, sein Grund für die Teilnahme sei, dass er die Arbeit der Stiftung für wichtig und sehr unterstützenswert halte (wenn er einen Preis abräumen würde, hätte er natürlich auch nichts dagegen einzuwenden – was er dann auch prompt tat).

Ein weiteres Highlight war die Spendenaktion, die Wacken-Foundation-Kurator Enno Heymann gestartet hat. Er ist von seinem Heimatort bei Schleswig im hohen Norden Deutschlands bis nach Ballenstedt geradelt. Pünktlich zum Festivalbeginn am Donnerstag traf er an unserem Stand ein und wurde von uns natürlich gebührend gefeiert. Aber damit nicht genug – nach dem Festival ist er die ganze Strecke auch wieder zurückgeradelt. Mit dieser Aktion hat er 800 € auf der Spendenplattform Helpedia für die Wacken Foundation eingenommen. Eine super Aktion, Enno, vielen Dank!

Zusammenfassend lässt sich sagen, dass sich die Tour zum Rockharz sich absolut gelohnt hat und wir hoffen sehr, dass wir in 2014 wieder mit dabei sein können.

Vielen Dank an alle Besucher, die auch bei Hitze unermüdlich geradelt sind und uns mit Fragen zur Stiftung gelöchert haben. Außerdem ein ganz herzliches Dankeschön an den Veranstalter des Rockharz für die Gastfreundschaft und den perfekten Standplatz. Es war ein tolles Festival. Und zu guter Letzt tausend Dank an Jenny, Marcel und Hendrik für eure unermüdliche Unterstützung. You rock!!!

WACKEN OPEN AIR 2013

 

ORT

 

Wacken, Deutschland
ENTFERNUNG0 Kilometer
DATUM DES FESTIVALSDonnerstag, 1. August bis Samstag, 3. August - 3 TAGE
ZEITRAUM MIT
AN-/ABREISE
Dienstag, 16. Juli bis Montag, 2. August - 21 TAGE

Auch ein Heimspiel hat es in sich!!

Wie ihr unschwer erkennen könnt, ist der Zeitraum des Auf- und Abbaus beim Wacken Open Air viel länger als die drei offiziellen Festivaltage. Das liegt daran, dass die Wacken Foundation „zu Hause“ ein eigenes 20 x 80 m großes Camp hat, für das etwas mehr Planung, Organisation, Personalaufwand und Koordination nötig ist. Neben unserem riesigen W:O:Art-Zelt mit tollen Künstlern wie Chris Boltendahl von Grave Digger sollten auch Organisationen und Firmen wie z. B. Sea Shepherd, Rock Science, Greenpeace, Tim Mälzer PZA Restaurant, pokerstars.de und viele mehr ihren Standplatz bekommen. Und das musste natürlich bis ins Detail durchgeplant und koordiniert werden.

Die Wacken Foundation war zuständig für eine Infopagode, Torwandschießen und das Pfahlsitzen. Außerdem lag die Betreuung der Metal4Nature-Pfandsammelaktion auf dem Festival-Gelände in unseren Händen. Um das alles zu wuppen mussten wir uns Hilfe holen - am besten von Leuten, die bereits etwas Ahnung von der Arbeit unserer Stiftung haben. Und wer wäre da besser geeignet als Bands, die eine Förderung von der Wacken Foundation bekommen haben? Insgesamt hatten wir über 40 ehrenamtliche Helfer und mehr als die Hälfte waren Mitglieder von geförderten Bands. So hat auch zum Beispiel Martin von Cryptex kräftig mit angepackt. Er merkte an, dass seine Band ihre erste Support-Tour ohne die Förderung der Wacken Foundation nicht hätte umsetzen können. Aus diesem Grund wollte er der Stiftung etwas zurückgeben und hat deshalb im Wacken Foundation Camp mitgearbeitet.

 

Das Wacken Foundation Camp auf dem Wacken Open Air 2013 war auf jeden Fall ein Highlight unserer Tour. Es war toll mitzuerleben, wie viele Leute ehrenamtlich die Wacken Foundation unterstützen und die vielen sehr positiven Reaktionen auf uns und unser Camp zu hören!

 

Wir danken den Veranstaltern des W:O:A, allen Standbetreibern für die tolle Kooperation, den Künstlern aus dem W:O:Art-Zelt und den zahlreichen ehrenamtlichen Helfern. Ihr wart einfach spitze!

 

Ein besonderes Dankeschön an Marcel, Katha, Surani und Birte – dem unermüdliche Wacken Foundation- Camp-Team.

BLOODSTOCK OPEN AIR 2013

 

ORT

 

Walton-on-Trent South Derbyshire, England
ENTFERNUNG1.300 Kilometer
DATUM DES FESTIVALSDonnerstag, 8. August bis Sonntag, 11. August - 4 TAGE
ZEITRAUM MIT
AN-/ABREISE
Dienstag, 6. August bis Montag 12. August, 7 TAGE

Direkt zwei Tage nach dem Wacken Open Air brachen wir schon wieder auf zum nächsten Festival, dem Bloodstock Open Air in England. Zuvor hatten wir in Windeseile all unser Standmobiliar wieder zusammen gesucht, vom Staub befreit und in unseren Transporter gepackt. Wir waren sehr gespannt was uns erwartet. Nach 1,5 Tagen on the road und auf der Fähre kamen wir in Derbyshire an und bekamen einen super zentralen Standplatz direkt neben der Hauptbühne zugewiesen. Dort war es während der Auftritte zwar wahnsinnig laut, aber dafür war auch immer ordentlich was los. Am Mittwochabend spielten noch keine Bands, aber die Gäste hatten trotzdem Zugang zum Infield. So versammelte sich eine Gruppe von Gästen an unserem Stand und feierte dort. Wir hatten Gelegenheit mit ihnen über die Stiftung zu reden, sie von unserer Arbeit zu überzeugen und die Engländer investierten ihr Kleingeld auch gerne in unsere Verlosung.

In Groß Britannien sind Stiftungen verbreiteter als in Deutschland und daher kamen sehr viele Besucher zu unserem Stand um sich bei uns über die Arbeit der Wacken Foundation zu informieren. Die Resonanz der Gäste zur Stiftung war großartig. Auch der örtliche Radiosender Bloodstock Radio, der ganzjährig sendet, interessierte sich für die Wacken Foundation und hat ein Interview mit der Projektmanagerin der Stiftung aufgenommen. Das gesamte Interview findet ihr unter folgendem Link.

Das wohl spektakulärste Ereignis für die Wacken Foundation auf dem Bloodstock Open Air war die Gitarren-Verlosung am vorletzten Festivaltag. Über 70 Loskäufer kamen zum Stand und hofften auf den Hauptgewinn, eine original W:O:A-Gitarre von Epiphone. Das gestaltete sich aber langwieriger als gedacht: Über 10-mal mussten wir neu ziehen, da die Besitzer der Gewinner-Nummer nicht vor Ort waren. Der Stimmung nahm das aber keinen Abbruch. Im Gegenteil: der Pulk an Menschen vor dem Stand rief immer wieder: „Redraw! Redraw! Redraw!“ Nach der 12ten Ziehung des Gewinnerloses war dann auch endlich der Gitarren-Gewinner gefunden. Dieser war dann anscheinend so überwältigt, dass er uns die Gitarre mehr oder weniger aus den Händen riss und damit wie angestochen losrannte um sie schnell seinen Freunden zu zeigen.

 

Das Bloodstock Open Air 2013 war für die Wacken Foundation die erste England-Erfahrung und eine durchweg positive. Wir danken den Veranstaltern Paul und Adam Gregory, dass sie uns so herzlich empfangen haben. Außerdem vielen Dank an Anna, Jule und Surani für eure großartige Unterstützung!!

ELB-RIOT 2013

 

ORT

 

Hamburg, Deutschland
ENTFERNUNG75 Kilometer
DATUM DES FESTIVALSSamstag, 17. August - 1 TAG
ZEITRAUM MIT
AN-/ABREISE
Freitag, 16. August bis Samstag, 17. August - 2 TAGE

Das ELB-RIOT war das fünfte Ziel unserer Wacken Foundation-Festival-Tour 2013. Als wir den Standplatz zugewiesen bekommen haben, der erstmalig nicht direkt im Infield war, hatten wir zunächst die Sorge, dass nicht viel an unserem Stand los sein wird. Aber ganz im Gegenteil – die Besucher kamen ebenso zahlreich und interessiert zu unserem Stand wie schon die Engländer beim Bloodstock Open Air. Sehr auffällig war, wie viele der Leute sich ihrem Kleingeld in unsere Spendendosen entledigten – auch ohne am Gewinnspiel teilzunehmen oder dafür einen Kugelschreiber oder Feuerzeug mitzunehmen. Vor allem die uns schon bekannten Gesichter vom Rockharz waren in Spenderlaune.

Am späten Abend, kurz vor Ende der Veranstaltung kam es dann zur Ziehung der Plätze 1, 2 und 3 unserer Verlosung. Es hatten sich wieder wahnsinnig viele Leute bei uns eingefunden. Der dritte Preis, ein W:O:A-Fanset fürs Auto, ging an eine sympathische Dame mittleren Alters. Und auch der zweite Preis, eine Laptop-Tasche landete bei derselben sympathischen Dame. Um zu der erwartungsvollen Menge zu zeigen, dass alles mit rechten Dingen zugeht, mischten wir die Lose nun umso gründlicher. Als wir die Nummer des dritten Gewinnerloses bekannt gaben, schrie die Dame erneut auf und wedelte mit der richtigen Losnummer in der Luft: „Das ist das Los meiner Tochter, die ist vor der Bühne und hat mir ihre Lose mitgegeben!!“ Ein wenig fassungslos waren wir alle, aber die Gewinnerfamilie hatte wohl einen besonders großen Glückstag. „Ein toller Gewinn – und gleichzeitig habe ich damit etwas Gutes für junge Metal-Bands getan.“ freute sich die Tochter als sie später zu unserem Stand kam.

 

Das ELB-RIOT war unser letztes Open Air-Festival unserer 2013er-Tour und ein für uns sehr gelungenes Event. Wir danken den Veranstaltern und hoffen im kommenden Jahr wieder mit dabei sein zu dürfen. Außerdem vielen Dank an Stefan für die super Hilfe am Stand!

HAMBURG METAL DAYZ 2013

 

ORT

 

Hamburg, Deutschland
ENTFERNUNG75 Kilometer
DATUM DES FESTIVALSFreitag, 27. September bis Sonntag, 29. September - 3 TAGE
ZEITRAUM MIT
AN-/ABREISE
Donnerstag, 26. September bis Montag 30. September - 5 TAGE

Die 2. Hamburg Metal Dayz war das letzte Festival der Wacken Foundation-Festival-Tour. In der Markthalle kannten wir uns bereits gut aus, da wir nun bereits zum vierten Mal hier einen Stand aufbauen durften.

Während der Hamburg Metal Dayz 2013 fanden sich einige bekannte Gesichter bei uns am Stand ein. Sie kannten unsere Stiftung schon von den HMD 2012 vom RockHarz, NovaRock, W:O:A oder Elbriot und hielten an unserem Stand um mit uns unsere Sommertour Revué passieren zu lassen und an den Verlosungen teilzunehmen. Wie schon im vorigen Jahr hatten wir das Glück jeden Tag eine von Epiphone gestiftete Gitarre verlosen zu können – am letzten Tag sogar mit den Signaturen des Headliners Children of Bodom. Mit einem überwältigendem Ergebnis: Am Ende verließen wir die Markthalle mit einem Plus von über 3.000 €.

Die Versteigerung einer Epiphone E-Bass Gitarre, der vor Ort von ALLEN Bands der HMD 2013 unterschrieben wurde, steht noch aus. Die Auktion wird ab Mittwoch, 11.12.2013 für eine Woche bei eBay stattfinden. Der Link zur Auktion folgt auf www.wacken.com, bei Facebook und hier.

Die Hamburg Metal Dayz 2013 waren für die Wacken Foundation ein voller Erfolg. Nicht nur wegen der Rekordeinnahmen, sondern vor allem auch wegen dem durchweg positiven Feedback von den Besuchern über die Festival-Tour und die Stiftung. „Ihr seid auf dem richtigen Weg!“ merkte einer der Gäste an.

 

Vielen Dank an die Veranstalter und die Jungs von der Markthalle! Und ein riesiges Dankeschön an Mücke und Maja, unsere beiden ehrenamtlichen Helfer.

 

Übrigens, wenn ihr euch nun fragt, was unsere ehrenamtlichen Helfer motiviert für die Wacken Foundation zu arbeiten, dann hat Maja eine Antwort darauf: „Ich bin Metal-Fan und ich sehe einfach, wie wichtig die Arbeit der Foundation für die gesamte Metal-Szene ist. Ohne Nachwuchs hat Metal keine Zukunft. Und es macht auch einfach wahnsinnigen Spaß mit den Leuten zusammen zu arbeiten.“